Stadia At E3 2019 — Google Announces 'Stadia Connect' for June 6th

June 5, 2019
NEWS

Google Stadia will be at E3 — sort of. Officially announced via Twitter on Monday, the Google Stadia Connect live stream will officially detail “The Price. The Date. [and] All The News.”

“Some news can’t wait for #E3”, said the tweet. With the use of the E3 hashtag suggesting that Stadia is officially a part of the now near week-long event.

The inaugural Stadia Connect stream will go live on YouTube at 5pm BST (12pm EST / 9am PDT) on June 6th, giving Google a headstart on their E3 competition by just a few days. Microsoft were initially set to kick off E3 on Sunday with their annual press conference at 9pm GMT (4pm EST / 2pm PDT).

Google Stadia was announced at the 2019 Game Developers Conference in San Francisco in March. A streaming-only platform, it’s designed to allow users to play games without the need for a dedicated console or PC whilst retaining the expected fidelity. It is said that Stadia will be able to play games at 4K resolution and at 60 frames-per-second.

Assassin's Creed Odyssey is one of the first games confirmed for Stadia. The Ubisoft title was used to test the service at the end of 2018. Google is working on building at least one first-party studio with Jade Raymond (formerly of Ubisoft and EA) at the helm. However, at the moment, no Stadia-exclusive or first-party titles have been revealed.

You can subscribe to Jump Chat Roll on your favourite podcast players including:


Let us know in the comments if you enjoyed this podcast, and if there are any topics you'd like to hear us tackle in future episodes!

Ant Barlow

Started with the PlayStation, now I'm here... with a PlayStation. Once skipped school to play the Metal Gear Solid demo repeatedly. I love stories big and small. Trophy hunter. Recent VR convert. Probably a hipster.